![]() |
| Dammit man- I need a beer about now. |
Thought I would have done better.*Sigh*
Completed the Paleo Challenge benchmark WOD today.
7 Thrusters 75/55#
7 Pull-ups
7 Burpees
6 weeks ago: 2 rds@7, 2@5 and finished up with 3's. Today 3@7, 1@5, then did almost all the 3's till the last round where I did 7reps again. The 3's were not challenging at all and I wanted to finish strong and save myself for the Open on Friday. I should have pushed harder on the 5's but in all reality- its the 7 rep rounds that really count. Push it to the max VO2/Lactic threshold anything else is purely coasting. It is definitely a brutal workout and worthy of a comparison to 'Fran'. It was mentioned afterward, probably harder than Fran due to its length & rep scheme. Essentially doing a Fran in 4 minutes, then not stopping for the next 12 minutes. Despite the fact I HATED every second of this workout was there a significant improvement? Yes, definitely. Satisfying? Not at all & I'm not sure why -maybe it didn't stroke my ego or fill me with happiness. I've been busting my ass on every front, skipping fine wines(sacrilegious), eating according to all the rules(monotonous) and not straying from the straight and narrow path(insipid) only to feel like a loser. WTF? Maybe it is the seeming numerical insignificance on paper of 1 bloody round that so perturbs me or the pissy mood from a muscle spasm in one of the erector muscles along my spine that put a dent in my day before the WOD. Its a win, but tasteless.
As to the Paleo challenge- I feel awesome other than dying for a tall dark beer. Looking forward to a long weekend of gustatory & debaucherous excess.

No comments:
Post a Comment