Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Low point- feeling weak

So yesterday and today- I've been mopey. Not interested in work or anything, mostly getting frustrated at small things and occasionally craving something sweet. Energetic but UN-inspired. Blasted outa the house for a quick workout- hurt my wrist doing a a singel MF'ing burpee- Ugh. WTF- almost 2 years off the mat and my wrists were just getting good and healed up. I did a paltry #120 on the 5x5 strict press, then scaled down the WOD on OHS to 65# and concentrated on my form to keep from aggravating my knee. Even pulled out the med ball to make sure my ass got low enough. OHS & split jumps were a real Quad blaster but my form got much better. Wasn't my finest hour.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

BOOM New PR


Had a strong morning class- got a new PR at HBBS- #285, felt really strong and that I could go heavier- maybe I will break 300! The WOD was fast- lost count of rounds so am unsure of my real time. It happens. Tonight I'll head to endurance and work on my long wind.  Excited to start training for some races.



Monday, January 27, 2014

Early Morning Class!



Finally got to catch a 5:30 am class, thanks to Gina not being in a  rush to get out of the house this morning. Waking up was a piece of cake, despite only getting about 4.5-5 hours of sleep. Breakfast and coffee went much faster and smoothly than I anticipated. Perhaps I need to start getting up at that time everyday to get more stuff done around here in peace and quiet. No wonder getting up early runs in my family-all those type-A's getting shit done! Felt great to workout w/ the boys- RX but a touch out of breath,  weak on the thrusters and strong on the pull ups and box jumps. Time was 16:56, not stellar, but strong. My callouses are giving me fits grabbing the bar correctly for pullups- guess I need to shave the damn things off. Had good strings of thrusters the first round then started to give out on rd 2 & 3 and dropped to 2-3's. KB's felt AWESOME- really strong and completely unbroken. Oh look- snow!

WORKOUT OF THE DAY

21-15-9 reps for time of:
Wall Balls 20/14#
Pull-ups
Thrusters 95/65#
Box Jumps 24/20”
KBS 53/35#

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Current physical status...

Feeling good again today. Was nice to get some solid 7-8 hours of sleep. The weather has warmed up to the 20's so it's not quite so painful to get outside. The WOD this morning wasn't too taxing, though the 115# power cleans, followed by lunges were terribly difficult. I tanked on HSPU since we haven't been doing them much in class and I haven't been practicing them at home much. I dearly need some extra time during the day for slow technique work. Also, since the OHS squats last week, my right knee has been  sending me very small messages that something is outa whack. Nothing serious yet but worthy of some attention. Need to jump tot that chapter in TSL. Energy wise I feel very good, been eating like crazy- need to vary my diet a bit more.

The Supple Leopard

Just picked up the best seller by Starrett. So far lots of quality diagnostic and therapy info. Dense and laced w/ all kinds of new vocabulary. I like the theory that everyone should, be able to perform maintenance on their own body. Powerful stuff on posture, movement and performance. Hopefull I can out it to good use. 

Friday, January 24, 2014

1 week in

Still feeling very good physically & ravenously hungry all the time. Need to find more snack like foods for around the house that don't require much prep. The endurance class was good- lots of strong mobility work with the kettlebell- smash of the feet, and calf. Kind of wish there had been a strength piece incorporated into it, but alas no.  Tomorrows WOD looks to be a fun AMRAP, something to look forward to.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Really feeling good.

So today has kind of been a watershed moment- other than all hell breaking loose at work and at home- I felt rested, physically fantastic and clear headed unlike I have felt in a long time. Well- a really long time- as in, as long as I can remember. As comes with these moments of illumination and clarity-strangely, it almost feels false, but maybe there is something to this Paleo thing. It helps not feeling quite so ravenous to get through the day. My WOD at lunch was satisfying-felt strong- with the strength piece a  Dead-lift 3x5 finishing the last 3 at #265. Not much soreness from yesterdays back to back workouts.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Benchmark results

So the benchmark WOD was a letdown- only got 2 full rounds in at 7 reps. Scaled back to 5 reps then quickly 3, but I did go the full 15 minutes. I really wanted to get 3, but just lost my breath and rhythm. Followed that by an excellent Endurance class w/ a 9:39 time. Came home and chowed down on some baked chicken & sweet potatoes.

Day 2 Paleo: feeling great and nervous for 'the Benchmark'.

Today marks the second strict day of following the Paleo diet as part of a 6 week challenge at North Country Crossfit. in support of my wife. Luckily I started weaning myself off of alcohol, sugar, grains last week to make the transition easier. Yes, I did suffer a bit of the Paleo flu on Sat/Sunday, but seemed to have turned a corner today. The gym's(i refuse to call it a 'box' fucking asanine marketing gimmic) benchmark WOD for the challenge is:
EMOM For As Long As Possible:
7 Thrusters 75/55#
7 Pull-ups
7 Burpees

Which doesnt exactly feel like quality benchmark WOD but rather a quick 2-3 minutes of hell to blackout. Most people doing the Paleo Challenge are not good at any of the techniques so it could be very disappointing. Myself included, as it doesn't take much to loose one's rythym and miss a mark. I'll do my best shooting for 3+ rds. Followed by my usual endurance class


Endurance WOD:
For Time:
1k Row
-then with no rest-
21-15-9 reps of:
KBS 53/35#
Burpees

Below are the pre-diet pics.Pudgy 172lbs, working out 6-8 times per week at Crossfit, with low mileage runs when weather permits.
To say I'm unhappy without a glass of wine with dinner is an understatement, but I will give this a shot to see how it goes. My food log is in the margin and training goals to follow in a subsequent post.